Friday, July 11, 2008

Alumni Blog

Class of 1973 alumnus Ann Kleinke Sherrick has created a new Plymouth High School alumni Blog. Her aim is to help alumni keep in touch with each other. Alumni should take a look at this Blog and hopefully it will give you a tool to rekindle old friendships. Thanks for your work Ann!

Board Meeting

The Plymouth Community School Board of Trustees met Thursday, July 10, at 5:15 at the Administration Building. Below is a summary of several personnel actions along with 10 business items.

The Board approved the recommendations to employ the following teachers for the upcoming school year. Dianne Jeffirs-Himes (elementary media specialist), Chelsea Bennett (junior high social studies), Rebecca Ippel (high school ENL), Ben Snyder (high school PE), Chris Kirkum (high school Industrial Tech), and Melissa DeFord (high school English). A photo and a short biography for each new teacher will be on the Blog after school starts.

Business Transactions
1. The Board heard a report on the Marshall County Alternative School.
2. The Board selected The Pilot News for legal advertising.
3. The Board received a report on the high school spring athletic season from Mr. Benge.
4. The Board adopted an Acceptable Use Policy for staff members.
5. The Board eliminated the Tier System for administrative contracts and equalized the pay and benefits for Director of Guidance and the Athletic Director.
6. The Board approved payments for two building project affidavits.
7. The Board passed a resolution to allow payments for interest bearing bills since there will not be another meeting for a month.
8. The Board took under advisement several options for the use of the remaining construction funds.
9. The Board received three fuel bids and rejected each of them.
10. The Board approved a transfer-tuition student for the high school.

The next Board meeting is scheduled for the Administration Building on August 7, 2008, at 7:00 PM. The budget workshop is scheduled for August 21 and the budget hearing is scheduled for September 4.